Events

This calendar contains 2018 events that are sponsored or supported by Citizens’ Greener Evanston (CGE) or that are relevant to the local sustainability community. All events are open to the public and are in Evanston unless otherwise specified.

 

January

Mayor’s Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group – Tuesday, Jan. 2, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Energy Committee meeting – Wednesday, Jan. 10 at 7:30pm, Morton Civic Center,  Room 2403.  Monthly, second Wednesday.

Chicago’s Water Intake Cribs, 1850 to the present – Saturday, Jan. 13, 10 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Lagoon Building, 1631 Sheridan Rd.

CGE Environment Justice Committee meeting –  Monday, Jan. 15 at 6:30pm, Morton Civic Center, 2100 Ridge Ave. 2nd floor.  Monthly, 3rd Monday.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, Jan. 17, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Edible Evanston meeting – Wednesday, January 24, 7 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Green Drinks: Waste Reduction in Evanston – Wednesday, Jan. 31, 6:30-8 p.m., the Celtic Knot, 626 Church St.

February

Mayor’s Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group – Tuesday, Feb. 6, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Edible Evanston meeting – Wednesday, Feb. 14, 7 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Energy Committee meeting – Wednesday, Feb. 14 at 7:30pm, Morton Civic Center,  Room 2403.

CGE Environment Justice Committee meeting –  Monday, Feb. 19 at 6:30pm, Morton Civic Center, 2100 Ridge Ave. 2nd floor.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, Feb. 21, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

March

Mayor’s Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group – Tuesday, March 6, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Edible Evanston meeting – Wednesday, March. 14, 7 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Energy Committee meeting – Wednesday, March. 14 at 7:30pm, Morton Civic Center,  Room 2403.

CGE Environment Justice Committee meeting –  Monday, March 19 at 6:30pm, Morton Civic Center, 2100 Ridge Ave. 2nd floor.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, March 21, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

April

Mayor’s Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group – Tuesday, April 6:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Energy Committee meeting – Wednesday, April 11 at 7:30pm, Morton Civic Center,  Room 2403.

C-Change Climate Discussion – Thursday, April 19 at 6:30 p.m., Rotary Center

Public input for Mayor’s Climate Action Program, co-hosted by CGE and NHE, 6:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, April 18, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

May

Mayor’s Climate Action Resilience Plan Working Group – Tuesday, May 1, 6:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Edible Evanston meeting – Wednesday, May 9, 7 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

CGE Energy Committee meeting – Wednesday, May 9 at 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center,  Room 2403.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, May 16, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Nature’s Night Out (previously the Green Ball) – Friday, May 18, 7-10:30 p.m., Evanston Ecology Center, 2024 McCormick Blvd.

September

Streets Alive and the Green Living Festival – Sunday, September 9, 1-5 p.m. on Main Street and Chicago Ave.

Electric car event – Sunday, September 16, 12-4 p.m. Morton Civic Center parking lot.

CGE Board meeting – Wednesday, September 19, 7:30 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Green Drinks: Update on Evanston’s Climate Action Plan – Wednesday, September 26, 6:30 – 8 p.m., at the Celtic Knot, 626 Church St.

October

CGE Board meeting, Wednesday, October  17, 7:30-9 p.m., Morton Civic Center.

Climate Change Town Hall with Jan Schakowsky – Monday, October 8, 6:15 p.m., Unitarian Church of Evanston.

Edible Evanston  Food Forest Work & Learn Day – Saturday, October 20, 11 a.m.-2 p.m., Eggleston Family Orchard (Payne and Hartrey).

Watershed Collective season kickoff: “Watershed Spirituality,” led by Tim Eberhart and Ric Hudgens – Saturday, October 27, 10 a.m.-12 p.m., the Lagoon Building, 1631 Sheridan Road.

November

Edible Evanston Meeting – Wednesday, Nov. 14, 7 p.m., Evanston Civic Center.

Environmental Justice Meeting – Monday. Nov. 19, 6:30 p.m., Evanston Civic Center.

CGE Energy Meeting – Wednesday, Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m., Evanston Civic Center.

Food Forest Work & Learn Day – Saturday, Nov. 17, 11 a.m.-2 p.m., Eggleston Family Orchard.

CGE Board Meeting – Wednesday, Nov. 28, 7:30 p.m., Evanston Civic Center.