About Citizens’ Greener Evanston

Our Mission and Vision

Citizens’ Greener Evanston (CGE) works to make Evanston a more environmentally just, sustainable, and resilient community. Our vision is to have Evanston recognized as one of the most environmentally sustainable cities in the country.  For more details, see our CGE Strategic Plan (2018).

Who We Are

CGE volunteers collaborate with the City, local businesses, the faith community, residents and others to make Evanston a more sustainable community – environmentally, economically, and socially – and to address climate change by dramatically reducing our greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions.  We are a 501 (c)(3) organization with more than 2,700 members. Please see below for a list of current board members.

CGE was formed in 2008 by volunteers who worked with the City on its first climate action plan. Since then, we have played a lead role in securing voter approval of the Community Choice Aggregation referendum in March 2012 and in encouraging the City Council to contract for 100 percent renewable electricity for aggregation participants. We have continued to work with the City’s Sustainable Programs Coordinator to develop and achieve subsequent climate action goals and are helping Evanston implement its 2018 Climate Action Plan.

Our Programs

CGE’s programs focus on critical areas that will help the City achieve its climate goals: renewable energy, transportation, natural habitat, food, environmental justice, water, climate change, and waste. Please visit our program pages via the list on the right sidebar, or you can see a summary of their objectives here.

CGE Board of Directors

(Including four board members with roles on the CGE Executive Committee)

Lily Aaron (student member)

Jacob Brodsky (student member)

Sara Diggs

Bea Echeverria

Joel Freeman

Jerry Herst

Mia Houseworth (student member)

Susan Kaplan

Ken Kastman

Christie Klimas, Treasurer

Peter Laundy

Lauren Marquez Viso, Vice President

Barbara Miller

Rachel Rosner, President

Jean Saunders

Allison Sloan

Jeff Smith

Clare Tallon-Rouen

Ann Terry

Sarika Waikar (student member)

Chuck Wasserburg, Secretary